top of page

Katie Pruitt returns with anticipated new album 'Mantras'

Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Katie Pruitt will release her highly anticipated new album, Mantras, on April 5 via Rounder Records (pre-order/pre-save here). 

To coincide with the announcement, Pruitt has released the new song, ‘White Lies, White Jesus and You’ (listen/share HERE). The song’s official music video, directed by Alexa King Stone and Stephen Kinigopoulos, will premiere today at 6:00pm UK on YouTube

Of the track, Pruitt reflects, “I wrote ‘White Lies, White Jesus & You’ about shedding any remaining shame associated with the church. It’s an intentional protest song rejecting the narrative that the Bible’s purpose is to gate-keep or oppress. I hope it serves as a reminder to anyone who has ever been hurt by religion, that spirituality is yours to define for yourself and no institution can take that away from you.” 

Produced by Jake Finch and Collin Pastore (both known for their work with boygenius and Lucy Dacus) and recorded at Nashville’s The Shed, Mantras is Pruitt’s most personal work to date and first new album in five years, following her acclaimed 2019 debut, Expectations. Across these eleven tracks, including previously released song, ‘Blood Related, Pruitt takes her introspective songwriting to new heights, as she explores complex relationships with family, religion and her own mind.

Reflecting on the project, Pruitt shares, “Mantras is a full circle journey from self-sabotage to self-compassion. Writing this record forced me to stop seeking external validation from the rest of the world and turn my focus inward. After hitting a low point that caused me to seek extensive therapy, I realised I had a problem with negative self-talk. So I started writing down phrases of encouragement and repeating mantras in the mirror. Through this practice I learned how to be a kinder friend to myself and ultimately a kinder friend to others. When life gets heavy and the future feel overwhelmingly out of our control, we can learn to turn inwards and build a home inside of ourselves.”

Known for her powerful live performances, Pruitt will embark on an extensive US headline tour this spring. Full details can be found at

In addition to Pruitt, Finch and Pastore, Mantras also features musicians Maggie Chaffee (strings), Dave Cohen (keys), Anthony Da Costa (guitar), Kris Donegan (guitar), Laura Epling (strings), Camille Faulkner (strings), Will Honaker (guitar, keys), Taylor Ivey (bass), Kevin McGowan (drums) and Johnny Williamson (guitar).

The new music adds to a series of breakout years for Pruitt following Expectations, of which NPR Morning Edition praised, “such clarity of expression and disarming intimacy—

Expectations is aesthetically warmhearted even in its tensest moments of confrontation.” 

Additionally, Rolling Stone declared, “A soaring vocalist and agile guitarist, Pruitt is a dynamic new presence,” while Pitchfork proclaimed, “With stately ballads and choruses to shatter glass, the Nashville singer-songwriter’s debut builds into a record that feels deeply thoughtful and unified.”


1. All My Friends

2. White Lies, White Jesus and You

3. Self Sabotage

4. Leading Actress

5. Jealous of the Boys

6. Blood Related

7. Naive Again

8. The Waitress

9. Worst Case Scenario

10. Phases of the Moon

11. Standstill


bottom of page